Townsend Cottage - Lake 1
Gazette Article   Page 1      Page 2

             Lundquist Beech Island Townsend Cottage History

In May 1911 Plainwell grocer, George W. Townsend and his teenage son, Clare, loaded lumber on a scow at Shelp’s Resort and headed for Beech Island. After the scow tipped over in the middle of the lake and the floating lumber was retrieved, they eventually reached the Island and in just a few days what became known as “Beechnut Inn” was built.

   Original Cottage

This began wonderful years at Pine Lake filled with good times, catching fish and sharing Beechnut Inn with family and friends. For over 40 years George and wife, Alla, their three children (Clare, Doris and Francis) and their spouses and five grandchildren spent summers “on the island”.

   1923 Cottage

In 1953 the cottage was sold to Rev. Park and Francis Newcombe who continued to experience the joys of island living for the next 23 years. 

            And then in July 1976 beloved Beechnut Inn came back into the Townsend family!

   Circa 1980s Cottage

George and Alla’s granddaughter, Georgia Townsend Lundquist and her husband, David, bought the cottage and continue to this day to find this to be a very special place, as do their three children and spouses (Anne and Allan, Tom and Diana and Sarah and Dave) and their five grandchildren (Drew, Chelsea, Riley, Zach and Alex). In 2011 we celebrated the 100th anniversary of our beloved Pine Lake cottage and will continue to share it with family and friends for many years to come.

   Present Day Cottage




Site Map